I have a situation I’d like to present to you from an ACA race in Second Life:
Let’s call the boats involved ‘A’ and ‘B’, for convenience.
In picture 1, you will see how, on a downwind course, boat B, applying his windshadown, establishes an overlap with boat A to windward.
Picture 2: Boat A calls boat B up and luffs.
Picture 3: Boat A luffs boat B up until close hauled, after which boat B tacks over to port.
I have a couple of questions here:
Assume the race is run under the Racing Rules of Sailing in Second Life:
– What rules apply here?
– Is boat A right to call up boat B up?
– Could boat A actually luff boat B up to head to wind, even when they were on a downwind course originally?
– Can boat B protest boat A under any rule ?
For those of you who think this is too easy, now answer the same questions under full ISAF rules…